top of page
  • Writer's pictureArlene's Artist Materials

Koi Watercolor Pocket Sets: Sometimes Its Good to Admit You're Wrong.

Updated: Jan 28, 2021

August 7, 2020

 

The views, thoughts, and opinions expressed in the text belong solely to the author, and not necessarily to the author's employer, Arlene’s Artist Materials. Please contact with any questions.

 

I’ve been working in art supplies for what seems like forever and like any industry there are always popular trends that come on strong only to eventually fade out. When Koi Watercolor Pocket Field Sketch Box Sets first came out I couldn't help but feel like they would be one of these trends. Everything about them looked great but looks can be deceiving. How did they work? The box itself was really nice but what about the paint? Was the paint worth it or was it like all these other affordable watercolors sets that lack saturation? Plus, it had a water brush and to me they seemed unnecessary. Needless to say, I was skeptical. It took awhile for me to get over myself and try one to see how it worked for myself. I am glad I did.


In my opinion Koi Watercolor Pocket Field Sketch Box Sets are one of the better watercolor sets on the market. The colors are what any watercolorists would look for. Rich, saturated colors that layer well and are uniformly consistent. What I really love is the sets feature half pan watercolors, which is my preferred type of watercolor. For no other reason then it reminds me of being a kid and having fun painting for hours with my watercolor set. Pure nostalgia.

And that waterbrush. The waterbrush is life changing. I couldn’t have been more wrong about something and I’m the first to admit it. Not only are they absolutely necessary, they are life saver. No matter if you are in the field or at home, water brushes make watercolor painting easier. No water containers to contend with. No accidents that spill on your desk, easel, or even worse, your lap. Just an easy squeeze of the handle to flush the color from the brush and continue painting. No fuss. No muss.


I can admit when I’m wrong and my original feelings for Koi Watercolor Pocket Field Sketch Box Sets were just that wrong. Koi Watercolor Pocket Field Sketch Box Sets are available in 12 color, 18 color and 24 color sets so there is one for everyone. Don’t be like me and wait to try them. If you are in the market for a Watercolor Set Koi Watercolor Pocket Field Sketch Box Sets are great options.


112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page